ADOPTION AND FOSTER CARE INFORMATION MEETINGS

Thank you for inquiring about the Kentucky Foster Care and Kentucky Adoption Profile Exchange. Information Meetings have been scheduled to help you learn more about the Foster Care and Adoption Program.  Several locations throughout the community are listed for your convenience.  Please attend one of the meetings listed below.  If you are married or have a live in significant other, both individuals will need to attend an Information Meeting before starting the Foster Care Training Classes (anyone in the home ages 18 or older must attend a meeting).  You will be able to sign up for these classes at the end of the Information Meeting.

Kentucky adoption specialists look forward to meeting you and having the opportunity to tell you more about the types of children who need foster and adoptive homes.  At this meeting you will be provided with detailed information of the requirements and process of how you can become a foster or adoptive parent.  Also, please be prepared to provide social security numbers and date of birth for all members living in your household.

Reservations are NOT required to attend an information meeting.  However, it is advised that you arrive promptly (for security purposes, the doors will be closed once the meeting begins).  Please be advised, children under the age of 18 will not be permitted.  In the event of inclement weather, the University of Louisville schedule will be followed. If U of L is closed the information meeting will not be held.  If they are on a delayed schedule, the information meeting will be held at its regularly scheduled time.  You may also call 595-KIDS (5437) on the day of the meeting to confirm the status of the meeting.                                      

Information Meeting Locations & Times

L & N Building, 1st Floor, 908 West Broadway, 40203
Crescent Hill Library, 2762 Frankfort Ave., 40206
St. Stephen Church, Room 307, 1018 South 15th, 40210
Neighborhood Place at Shawnee, 4018 West Market St., 40212
South Central Library (Okolona), 7300 Jefferson Blvd, 40219
Southeast Christian Church, 920 Blankenbaker Pkwy, 40243
Southwest Regional Library, 9725 Dixie Hwy, 40272

June 2019
Thursday, June 20, Southwest Library 6 – 8 pm
Saturday, June 29, South Central Library 10 – noon

July 2019
Monday, July 8 Shawnee NP 6-8 pm
Saturday, July 20 South Central Okolona Library 10 – noon
Tuesday, July 30 Crescent Hill Library 6 – 8 pm

AUGUST 2019
Monday, August 5 St. Stephen Church 6 – 8 pm
Thursday, August 22 Southwest Library 6 – 8 pm
Saturday, August 31 South Central Okolona Library 10 – noon

SEPTEMBER 2019
Tuesday, September 10 Southeast Christian 6 – 8 pm
Tuesday, September 24 Crescent Hill Library 6 – 8 pm
Saturday, September 28 South Central Okolona Library 10 – noon

OCTOBER 2019
Tuesday, October 8 Southeast Christian 6 – 8 pm
Thursday, October 24 Crescent Hill Library 6 – 8 pm
Saturday, October 26 South Central Okolona Library 10 – noon

NOVEMBER 2019
Tuesday, November 12 Southeast Christian 6 – 8 pm
Tuesday, November 19 Crescent Hill Library 6 – 8 pm
Saturday, November 30 South Central Okolona Library 10 – noon

DECEMBER 2019
Monday, December 9 St. Stephen Church 6 – 8 pm
Thursday, December 19 South West Library 6 – 8 pm
Saturday, December 28 South Central Okolona Library 10 – noon

 **An application packet will be handed out during this meeting and all applicants will be given the option of signing up for foster care pre-service classes.  The Foster Applicant Information, Questionnaire I, and Financial Statement (included in the application packet) MUST be completed and turned in by the 1st foster care pre-service class.  If you have not turned in the required documents by the 1st foster care pre-service class, you WILL NOT be allowed to continue the classes.  You will be directed to complete fingerprints after turning in your paperwork.**

**If you have any further questions please call 595-5437 (KIDS)

 

Wednesday's Child